image It’s just a great big thank you, that’s all

A Christmas message from Paul Matthews, Chief Executive Officer

It’s all too easy for me to go through the motions of sending out a Christmas message and lose sight of why I’m sending it.  Yes, it’s certainly about wishing you all the best for the festive season.  I genuinely hope that you have a lovely time doing whatever you want to do with the people that you most want to be with.  Whether that’s resting or roaring, go large and do it in style.

But it’s so much more than that.  It’s a moment for me to express my personal thanks to each and every one of you for what you do every single day of the year.  Being a public servant is a selfless and often thankless task.  It’s a calling and the difference that we make together goes beyond performance indicators.  We impact lives for the better, often when people need us most.  We do it because we care and in the hurly burly of every week I see it wherever I go.  I’ve said before and I will say it again; there is nowhere I would rather be.

I can promise you more trials and tribulations next year but I will do my best to make sure you are always supported and clear on why we do the things we do.  As we take our break, a special word for all those that don’t.  Our highways crews, our waste and cleansing teams, our duty social work teams, our care workers and everyone else on standby who will come running if a need arises.  I won’t lose sight that your efforts make life just that little bit easier for the rest of us and I raise a glass to you all (non-alcoholic of course!!)

So it’s just a great big thank you – that’s all.

Paul

Leave a comment