image If Carlsberg did Councils … a Christmas thank you

Christmas message from Paul Matthews, Chief Executive Officer

Yep, it’s that time of year again. A bit of a break, time spent with loved ones, over-consumption, credit card bills – but enough about me!!

I most sincerely want to offer my thanks to each and every one of you for the really tremendous effort that you have put in this year. We all know public service is not a soft employment option, and done well requires every ounce of ability and emotional resilience that we can muster, and this year we have certainly mustered it. We have all pushed things hard and the organisation has achieved things that I didn’t hand on heart think were possible. I’m not going to offer examples because this message isn’t about some of us, it’s about all of us.

I often say to new starters that Monmouthshire doesn’t employ children, just adults and that you should expect to be treated as an adult every single minute of every single day. I go further and tell new starters our story. In simple terms this is about a council that really values the communities that it serves, spends its time trying to improve things for people in these communities and is not frightened to be a little different when we think it is necessary. I tell them, as I remind you now that this council is your council and I, like you, have the privilege of being a small but important cog in a very special wheel.

I hope you have a great Christmas. I hope you get to spend it in the manner that you choose and with the people that you want to be with. I would like to think that we will all find a moment to think about those that aren’t as fortunate as us and also about our colleagues that will work through the period (because we are a 24/7 organisation that never stops).

And yes, if ‘Carlsberg did Councils’, I’m pretty sure they would be selling MONMOUTHSHIRE to the world, just like you do every day.

Paul

Leave a comment