From little success, great success can grow

We take a different approach to saving money and increasing revenue in Monmouthshire Leisure Services, so we launched Mon Leisure Training Academy.  The academy is offering courses in fitness, first aid, and lifeguarding; ensuring our candidates have access to a one-stop leisure training company.

It’s our aim to deliver excellent training for great value. With increasing budget pressures it really is a case of ‘every little helps’. Internally training and providing courses for our staff cuts the cost whilst selling spare places, or putting on courses, for the citizens of Monmouthshire generates much needed new revenue sources.

One of the early first aid courses I ran I only had a small number of people on the course which meant it was fantastic for me to practice my skills and deliver the course to small but captive audience. Little did I realise, this would lead to great success quicker than I thought.

One of the course participants had contacts with UKGT (Tae-Kwon Do Uk) HQ.  Every instructor in the UKQT HQ needs a first aid qualification and they were so impressed with my skills, I was soon on route to Leicester to deliver a course to 10 instructors with another course in the pipeline.

For information about Mon Academy please contact us

And remember from a little success great successes can grow

About the Author

Photo of DuncanDuncan Thompson
I started work for the authority 14 years ago. I am passionate about working in the local community and for the local community and have been lucky enough to worked in all 4 of Monmouthshire’s Leisure Centres doing pretty much every job available on the way; Café Assistant, Play Scheme Worker, Play Scheme Leader, Caretaker, Leisure Assistant, Gym Instructor, Receptionist- to name a few! I now work as a Duty Officer at Chepstow L.C and oversee the lifeguard training at the centre for the as part of our IQL commitment with the Royal Lifesaving Society.
I am I self confessed first aid geek and ever since someone collapsed in one of the gyms and I was able to use a AED defibrillator on the gentleman along with CPR it was an life changing event for me to be able to shake his hand 4 months later when he was discharged from hospital. Since then I have gone on and obtained my PGCE and love running lifeguarding and first aid courses.
Leave a Reply

